Editor’s Note: Encounters

Takeru_Baba

There is no encounter without meaning. I’ve encountered many people on my journey, and those meetings meant something.

Takeru Baba

(Cardfight!! Vanguard G Episode 14)

“What is your reason for playing this game?”

I was once asked this question by a fellow competitor, and it is now my favorite question to those playing the game of Cardfight!! Vanguard. This question has been the driving force of me staying in this game in the past, and the reason that I still play at this point in time. My answer to this is the people, the players, the competitors that i have found in this game. Though the initial reason that I started was to find out about the game mechanics of trading card games, I have stayed because I have met different and amazing people along the way.

Like many other games, this game encourages each person to experience the game with other people. It takes two people to play this game. Two people to trust each other enough to play within the rules. Two people who strive to be the best in the face of opposition. Two people to enjoy the thrill of competition. Two people to enjoy the battles on Cray together.

Along the way, I have met many cardfighters and cherished memories of the comradery and challenge that they have presented on the battlefield. Along with these memories, there is something that I could learn from each of them. From a Granblue player, who shows me that strategy is preferred over a big budget. From a Dark Irregulars player, who is gracious enough to show me that I can always improve my game. A Neo Nectar player who reminds me to always stay humble. From a Dimension Police player, who shows me the way to charge fearlessly into the heat of battle with no regard for danger. From a Tachikaze player, who reminds me of the importance of friends to lean on. Even with the above people mentioned, there are many more players than I can mention in this post that have taught me something or reminded me of something that I needed to keep in mind.

To all of the players that I have encountered in this game, thank you for showing me once again how to compete as a honorable player who values fun, competition, and sportsmanship in the midst of play. I would also like to thank the writers and readers that have taken a chance on this blog so that the community as a whole will improve and flourish as a result. Even with this in mind, I apologize to those that I may have hurt along the way. I am still learning how to compete as a fellow competitor, and with learning comes mistakes. Even in the midst of my mistakes, I hope that you all will allow me to enjoy this game with them again someday so that we can play, compete, and grow together on the distant battlefield of Cray.

Best regards,
Jonathan Smith
Cardfight Lab Tech
Editor in Chief


Images of the Cardfight!! Vanguard G show came from http://cardfight.wikia.com/wiki/Cardfight!!_Vanguard_Wiki. These images may have been re-sized.

Leave a Reply

