Vanguard Revenant: Returning To The Game

Hello all,

Welcome to my first article. In this I will cover something that many players who quit Vanguard in the past have often considered: returning to the game. Before I get into how I am fairing in this process (returning to the competitive Vanguard scene), let’s go over why I left and why I am now coming back.

When I left the competitive scene here in Ohio, I had been playing in the Stride format for several months, and I was extremely tired of the antics of the Shadow Paladin Abyss Legion and the sheer OP-ness of Sanctuary Guard and Swordmy. Add to that I was just starting college at OSU Newark later in the year, and I was done. However, now that I am enjoying summer after completing Freshman year, I realized that I missed playing the game and the community that makes this game so special. So, with that, I decided to throw my currently unemployed, relatively broke self, back into the game.

Now that I am returning to the game, I discovered there were three things that I needed to succeed, even on just the local Ohio level. They will be the focus of this article.  They are (in order of significance): 1. The local Vanguard community, 2. Internet connection, and 3. cash/trades. To start off, why is the local Vanguard Community so important? Simply put, your community is the BEST source for good card trades and sales, deck information, successful deck testing, and, most importantly, the best source of fun to be found in the game (aside from smashing your opponents to a pulp in game, but more on that another time).

Secondly, Internet connection. This is needed for additional research on the cards, decks, and strategies discussed with friends and acquaintances in your local Vanguard community. You can also find out about future set releases. This information is valuable because it allows you to assess the upcoming format, and figure out what cards you need to trade for or buy (hopefully before they spike in price). Lastly, web access is needed to find out the current prices for your cards – an exceptionally valuable tool in trades and sales. One eBay check can help you figure out if a deal is fair, or if you’re being ripped off royally.

Lastly, cash and/or trades. Allow me to emphasize that I said “or”. If you have the cash, I would advise finding a clan you like, investing in the best deck your wallet can handle, and play it as many times as you can against as many different decks as you can. If, like me, you are deep in the land of broke, this is where trades come in. Even I can afford to buy a few packs, and even the unluckiest guy will occasionally pull something of value. Make a deal, whether in person or online, and trade the cards you pull for the cards you need.

Well, I’ll say goodbye here, and I’ll cover more in my next article.

Have a good one all,

Chance

Leave a Reply

