Editor’s Note: Stress With Losing

EB11-023EN-C

Witch of Ruination, Scathach

Time for me to relieve some stress! You guys better run fast!

Witch of Ruination, Scathach

Hey everyone,

Sometimes when you play the game for a long time (or even when you have just started) and you find your deck just completely failing you, you truly wonder if the game is worth playing anymore. You wonder if you are good enough to continue playing the game. I can assure you it’s the opposite of that. Over the past year, I want to say I have been struggling with thinking I am a good player or not just because it seemed like my decks never really pushed. I have been playing this game since right before the Breaker of Limits set was released. Since that time, I thought I was a good player. Then, the legion era hit, and I did not feel the same way.

As a personal note, it’s not all fun and games when you feel this way. Though this is the case, remember that there are some things that you can do if you feel this way. For example, I played around with a bunch of random decks from week to week just trying to find my voice in the game, even to the point that I tried Touken Ranbu. I loved that deck just because of how versatile it was. If you don’t know how to build a good deck yet and you get torn apart by more experienced players, remember this: you are still learning. With this in mind, asking for help from your friends at your locals is very helpful in the learning process, potentially providing needed play testing or deck advice.

Something else you can do is take some time off from the game. I did this for a time, and it gave me a lot of time to think about the different situations in which I wasn’t happy with any of my decks. There may be not many tips that come from this that benefits you specifically, but just remember that there is always a way to improve and that you don’t need to always play the game on a daily basis. You can take a break and come back to it if it is healthy for you as a player and as a person. With that being said, I seriously hope that this little article has helped at the very least one person.

Thank you for reading,
Chris Brennen
Cardfight Lab Tech
Editor


Images of cards came from http://cardfight.wikia.com/wiki/Cardfight!!_Vanguard_Wiki. These images may have been re-sized.

Leave a Reply

