Starting Cardfight Vanguard: Things I Learned

Ironcutter Beetle

Ironcutter Beetle

I haven’t played Vanguard for very long, but that’s fine. I have a long history with card games like Magic, Yu-Gi-Oh!, Hearthstone, and many others. But this game locked me in, I owe it to a couple of people! For one I owe it to my friend Lawrence who bought a trial deck with me and taught me how to play and helped to see what deck to build first. Secondly, I would like to thank brgarnet17, who helped me by showing me a budget deck that would teach most of the game’s mechanics and how building decks in this game was different than how I did in any other card game.

Without further delay, here are some things I learned about Cardfight!! Vanguard as a newcomer to the game:

  • Vanguard is enjoyable to me. For me, Vanguard is refreshing even after playing the same deck for a while. You could play 3 to 4 matches against the same clan, and it they could all be very different decks. The games are fun and well paced. One thing that really dragged me down in other card games were certain match-ups auto-killed you, they completely neutralize you, just because you played the wrong deck against them. Vanguard helps this with drive checks, it’s a way mid-battle to deal some damage, build hand advantage, or even heal at certain points in the game. The game mechanics feel natural to me, and the game allows for a good shift of advantage.
  • Veteran players helped me improve. For me, a big part of any game is getting better and improving your decks and play style. That is a big thing I am working on now with my Megacolony deck. One of the best things that you can do is ask someone who is more experienced in the game and take a look at your deck. I only recently took the advice of one of the other bloggers of this community, and that advice made a big change to my game that is already changing the win rate in my deck!
  • Buying cards from packs wastes money. Just like any other card game, a lot of good decks cost a lot of money, and if you’re like me you don’t have enough money for those decks. But there are some great budget builds, which have great consistency with their plays and allow for further building into greater decks. While on the subject of saving money, one of best ways is to buy the singles you need rather than the packs from the boxes that it comes in. Avoiding buying boxes early on can be really helpful. Instead of just wasting money on cards you don’t need in your deck, head down to a local card shop that sells singles or buying online from retailers such as Amazon or TCGplayer. This can be really helpful to building up a collection of cards that you need with less wasted effort.

These are my personal takeaways from Cardfight!! Vanguard as a new player to the game. If you have any questions or comments about my experiences, please leave them in the comment section.


Images of cards came from http://cardfight.wikia.com/wiki/Cardfight!!_Vanguard_Wiki. These images may have been re-sized.

Leave a Reply

